GGA Governance & Structure

Structure & Governance of the GGA

The Grower Group Alliance (GGA) is a funded project hosted by Grain Industry Association of WA (GIWA), funded by the Department of Agriculture and Food WA through the Ag Sciences R&D Fund, an initiative of the WA State Government Royalties for Regions program.

Click here to learn about the GGA project team.


The GGA Strategic Advisory Group

The GGA Strategic Advisory Group (SAG) provides direction, advice and feedback on the activities of the GGA project.

Most importantly, the SAG is required to make sure that the GGA is working towards its vision through the objectives. The overall aim of the group is to ensure that the GGA is continually striving to enable regionally based grower groups to facilitate increased on farm profitability through practice change.

The SAG is chaired by a farmer representative and meets twice a year.

The role of the Strategic Advisory Group is to:

  • Provide high level industry feedback on agricultural industry trends, needs and issues in order to guide the strategic direction of the GGA
  • Offer independent advice from a variety of viewpoints to the Project Leader on formulating the GGA’s responses to strategic issues
  • Establish policy in relation to external and internal partnerships of the GGA
  • Monitor the achievement of project objectives
  • Raise the profile of the GGA in the industry and wider community.


Members of the SAG are chosen to represent a cross section of grower groups, research partners and industry organisations.

These include:

  • Grower group representatives (includes group EO’s and farmers)
  • Industry representatives (includes researchers, agribusiness and funders)
  • Project supervisors (from both DAFWA and GIWA)


The Strategic Advisory Group currently comprises:

Kelly Manton-Pearce (Chair) – Farmer

Clancy Michael – Farmer

Doug McGinniss – Farmer

Chris Reichstein – Farmer

Rhys Turton – Farmer

Sarita Bennett – Researcher

Yvette Oliver – Researcher

Brendan Nicholas – DAFWA Representative/Project Supervisor

David Ferris – DAFWA Representative/Project Supervisor

Ian Longson – GIWA Representative/Project Supervisor

Julia Easton – GRDC Representative